home   history   attractions   accommodation   gaa   links
Club History
Carrigallen GAA club came into existence in 1889. At the time most clubs identified themselves with well known national names, e.g. Wolf Tones, Parnellites, John Dillon’s, etc. Most of those names were and still are well known nationwide. Our club however took the name Mandeville who was an M.P. for Mitchelstown, Co. Cork, associated with the Land League and whose death in 1888 as a result of harsh prison treatment aroused great indignation throughout Ireland. At this time the political scene greatly influenced the decisions of the GAA and as a result of the Parnell split in 1890 the association was more or less dead in Leitrim from that time until 1903. Our club also disbanded and was not reformed until 1907. Our first recorded success was in 1912 when the Mandevilles beat Cloone in a tournament. The Mandevilles disbanded again in 1914.

It was the late twenties before football got going again in Carrigallen with at times three clubs, Tully, Drumeela and Carrigallen participating. Drumeela captured the first Championship for the parish in 1928 winning the Junior title. Tully was one of the greatest teams in the County from the mid 30s until the mid 40s contesting six Senior Championship Finals winning the title in 1945, and the Senior League in 1944. Carrigallen contested the 1941, 1943 & 1952 Championship Finals and recorded a success in 1941.

During the 1950s and 1960s high levels of emigration meant that the club had little success on the playing fields. After a lapse of a number of years the club reformed in 1972 at Juvenile level and in 1977 at Junior level. The club won the Junior Championship in 1980 and soon success followed in Division 2 of the League in 1982, 1984, 1986 & 1991. We opened our new Park on Easter Sunday 1984. In 1991 we won the Intermediate title for the first time and a year later we contested the Senior final only to lose by one point to Aughawillan. 2006 again, saw success at Intermediate level and later that same year we became the first club in Leitrim to defeat a Galway team when we overcame Menlough in the semi-final of the Connacht AIB Intermediate Championship. We eventually lost out to Tourmakeady of Mayo in the Final on a miserable day for football in early December.

July 2009 we won the Division 2 League, this time beating Celebrity Bainisteoir runner-up Dromahair in the final. In September we competed in our fist Leitrim Senior Football Final in 17 years, sadly coming up short by the minimum of margins of 1 point to Glencar Manorhamilton. Both our Senior and Junior teams have gained promotion to Division 1 and Division 4 of the Leitrim Leagues respectively for 2010. Our club, like all clubs in Leitrim is complemented by a very active and successful underage structure which has supplied many players to the Leitrim County Teams over the years. Our ladies team St. Joseph’s continue to grow from strength to strength and will have competed in yet another final by the time this article goes to press.

Off the field of play, the club has had many highlights including winning 4 Scór titles; Scór na nOg; Instrumental in 1989, Scór Sinsear; Nuachleas in 1988 & 1999, Recitation in 1994. In 2008 we built a new club house with a state of the art gym.
clubhistory clubnotes profiles lottoresults photogallery gaaresults
Last Updated: March 27, 2012
Bookmark and Share

info [@] carrigallen [dot] com

Home | History | Attractions | Accommodation | GAA | Links | Location | Business Index | Site Map

Ronan Ward Design. All rights reserved.